People...

Denton Elected President Of Spencer Chemical

Kenneth A. Spencer has been named board chairman and chief executive officer of Spencer Chemical. Succeeding him as president is John C. Denton, who was vice president in charge of the agricultural chemicals division. **C.** Y. Thomas, formerly general vice president in charge of operations, was elected vice chairman of the board. John P. Miller, formerly general vice president in charge of finance, becomes senior vice president in charge of finance. Joe E. Culpepper, formerly general vice president in charge of marketing, becomes senior vice president in charge of marketing. New vice president in charge of agricultural chemicals is Byron M. Kern, who was general manager in charge of agricultural chemicals production.

Thomas M. Ware, president of IMC since May 1958, has been named chief executive officer. Louis Ware, who was chief executive officer, continues as board chairman.

Robert E. Wagner, head of the University of Maryland agronomy department, joined American Potash Institute as director of its Eastern division on Sept. 1. He succeeds E. T. York, Jr., who has become director of extension at Alabama Polytechnic Institute.

Harry Fink has left the faculty of Pennsylvania State University to join the agricultural research staff of Monsanto's organic division.

Charles F. Chappel has been named manager of agricultural sales for Eli Lilly. He was technical specialist in the agricultural and industrial products division. Thomas M. Means, formerly assistant head of animal nutrition research, has been named head of Lilly's agricultural research. Serving under him will be: Edwin F. Adler, as assistant head of plant science research; Robert M. Berkman, as assistant head of veterinary science research; and Frank O. Gossett, as assistant head of animal clinical research, a new department.

C. C. Compton, manager of sales development for Shell's agricultural chemicals division, and M. J. Sloan, Washington, D. C., representative of the division, have exchanged positions.

Joseph W. Tripp, who received an M.S. in agronomy from Oklahoma State earlier this year, has joined Monsanto's inorganic division sales staff.

P. Paul Lowery and Joe D. Leeke have joined the sales staff of Grace Chemical Division. Lowery, formerly with Chance Vought Aircraft, is assigned to the Memphis office, from which he will cover Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, and New Mexico. Leeke, formerly with the sales service department, will also be located in Memphis, serving Tennessee, Kentucky, Missouri, and southern Illinois.

Frederick E. McCormick has been appointed manager of commercial development for American Cyanamid's agricultural division. He was the division's manager of market research.

Joseph J. Bozis has been appointed manager of customer service and Richard G. Powell manager of technical service for the materials department of IMC's agricultural chemicals division. Bozis was administrative assistant to the sales manager of the feed ingredients department. Powell was director of technical service for Mississippi River Chemical Co.

R. Paul Suckling has joined Velsicol International as Canadian representative. His territory will include all of Canada, and his headquarters will be in Montreal. He was formerly with McColl Frontenac Oil Co., Ltd.

John L. Payne, Jr., has been promoted from senior research group leader to assistant director of the research department of Monsanto's inorganic division.

Allen D. McConathy has joined the farm chemicals department of Monsanto's organic division.

Francis A. Gunther, insect toxicologist of the University of California, Riverside, has been selected to receive the 1959 Harvey W. Wiley Award of the AOAC. Gunther was cited for his success in "developing practical analytical methods for pesticide residues on fruits and vegetables..."

Theodore I. Stone has been made vice president and treasurer of Wilson & Geo. Meyer & Co. Previously senior accountant and treasurer, he will be manager of the newly organized administrative and finance department of the firm and its affiliated companies.

E. S. Loeffler has been named to head agricultural chemicals technical service laboratory of Shell Chemical in a reorganization of the Union City, N. J., laboratory. He was formerly senior technical representative of the agricultural chemicals division.

W. C. Coale, Jr., formerly foreman at the East St. Louis plant of American Agricultural Chemical Co., has been named assistant superintendent of the plant. W. M. Callahan, formerly assistant superintendent at Cleveland, has become superintendent at Three Rivers, N. Y. L. V. Gue, former assistant superintendent at Carteret, N. J., has become superintendent at Cincinnati. J. T. Hailey, who was as-

sistant superintendent at Baltimore, has been transferred to Detroit in the same capacity. Elbarae Harrison, former general foreman at Pierce, Fla., became superintendent at Johnson City, Tenn. P. J. Iten, former foreman at Knoxville, Tenn., was named assistant superintendent at Danville, Ill. M. E. Johnson, formerly foreman at Detroit, becomes assistant superintendent at Carteret, N. J. G. M. Lloyd, Jr., former assistant superintendent at Detroit, becomes responsible for sodium tripolyphosphate production at Carteret. K. R. Treiber has been transferred from Three Rivers, N. Y., to Fulton, Ill., as assistant superintendent. R. T. Gravitte. former assistant sales manager at Cincinnati, has been transferred to London, Ky., in the same capacity.

Wilbur F. July has been placed in charge of advertising and promotion for the agricultural chemicals division of Stauffer. He was assistant to the agricultural sales manager for the northeast area.

William P. Boyer, head of Virginia-Carolina's chemicals division, was elected vice president of the company. He will continue to have responsibility for sales, marketing, and production of all V-C chemicals. Charles T. Harding, executive vice president of V-C, has been elected to the company's board. New treasurer of V-C is Wallace T. McKeel, who was assistant treasurer. He will assume some of the duties of Amos M. Schuster, who will continue to serve as administrative vice president.

Eugene G. Ward, recent agriculture graduate of Oklahoma State, has joined the Crag agricultural chemicals staff of Union Carbide. After brief training, he will be assigned to field sales.

Aldrich Syverson has left Ohio State, where he was professor of chemical engineering, to become director of research for O. M. Scott & Sons.

Edward Michael O'Leary and Philip M. Olson have joined the chlordan marketing staff of Velsicol. O'Leary was with Multi-Clean Co., and Olson was with Southwest Potash. Richard Noonan, chlordan marketing specialist in the area between the seaboard states and the Midwest, has moved to Berkeley, Calif., to assist trade on the West Coast.

Trenton R. Tunnel has been elected president of Ashcraft-Wilkinson Co. Van W. Wilkinson has been elected vice chairman of the board.

Irb H. Fooshee has been appointed vice president-manufacturing of Allied Chemical. He continues as president of the General Chemical division.